LANSING, Mich. (Michigan News Source) – The Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning (OHSP) has announced its annual “Click It or Ticket” seatbelt enforcement campaign from May 15 to June 4. Officers from police departments, sheriff’s offices, and the Michigan State Police will be conducting seat belt enforcement across the state throughout the three-week period.

Michigan law requires drivers, front-seat passengers, and passengers 15 and younger to wear proper seatbelts. Noncompliant commuters could face a $65 fine. Additionally, children must be in a car seat or booster seat until they are 8 years old or 4’9” tall. Children under 4 years old are not permitted to ride in the front seat.

MORE NEWS: Legislators Seek Clarification Regarding Road Condition Lawsuit Filings

“Wearing a seat belt is the most effective thing you can do to reduce injuries and save lives – and buckling up should be an automatic habit for drivers and passengers alike,” said Katie Bower, OHSP director. “As busy summer travel season gets underway, we want to remind drivers and passengers to stay safe and wear a seat belt, every trip, every time.”

During the 2021 Memorial Day weekend, there were 14 fatal crashes on Michigan roadways. 2019-2022 also saw a nearly 2% decline in seat belt usage, with 30 Michigan counties falling below the statewide usage rate. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) estimates that buckling up in the front seat can reduce the risk of serious injury or death in a crash by 45%.

The “Click It or Ticket” campaign is supported by federal traffic safety funds and coordinated by OHSP.